Famous Poems 1

Here’s a poem I just discovered through Breaking Bad as emphasized in one of their best episodes and a climax to the show.
The poem is timeless and beautiful and while on here I could write a poem with my own words, there are so many amazing poets, that could do far better then I ever could, that I just want to share this space with them.
And so I will features poems that I think are amazing from time to time.

Ozymandias

Percy Bysshe Shelley1792 – 1822

I met a traveller from an antique land
Who said: “Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
Stand in the desert . . . Near them, on the sand,
Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown,
And wrinkled lip, and sneer of cold command,
Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
The hand that mocked them, and the heart that fed:
And on the pedestal these words appear:
‘My name is Ozymandias, king of kings:
Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
The lone and level sands stretch far away.”

~~~~~~~~~~~

On another note:
In a lot of ways I have also been a fan of the pop song Viva la Vida:

 

I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sleep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own

I used to roll the dice
Feel the fear in my enemy’s eyes
Listen as the crowd would sing
“Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!”

One minute I held the key
Next the walls were closed on me
And I discovered that my castles stand
Upon pillars of salt and pillars of sand

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror, my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field

~

These are both about owning an empire, being the king.  The first one, is the remains of that empire, the person who discovers it, never sees the mightiness of that king.  Just the ruins 100s or 1000s of years later..

In Viva La Vida, you have someone who got to be king and realized in the end it wasn’t worth it.  People tried to kill him all the time,  and in the end he would die anyway with nothing really to show for it, so he turns to a more meaningful life..

These poems are personally greatly meaningful to me because I am someone who like many people, would love to taste success in what they do.  Who has to some extent tried towards those ends.  But then there are reflection points where I ask, why am I doing it?  I know in the end it is not what really matters.  I simply could go outside and enjoy the day or spend more time with my kids.

Leave a Reply

