Gate’s Way

the circular swing, the metal alloy and a mischivous grin.after many years, it heaves it lumbers about to collapse.. Webs on the each corner, so many webs that look ancient, of spiderlings before and before.  I walk up to it.a.. and my small voice a pale echo to the massive gate, “What is the story behind you sir?”
“What do you mean, what is the story?”
“Just what I said.  Your story, who are you?”
“I am a gate.  That’s all.”
“you’re a gate and nothing more you say?”
“Well I am the gate of the Sir Chauncer of York from 1642, always been home to noble people, from places far far from the likes of you..”
“Oh yes, I get it, I understand your no ordinary gate.. ”
“No, no, I am afraid you misunderstand, I am not special, but I house some people who are.  but that is not me.   I only serve.  ”
“But..” I start.
“What do you mean But?? No more questions.  I am tired, so very tired of your questions, so if you would please Go Away from me.  Otherwise I will alert the hounds..
You can do that??
Of course I can.  My lorde has of course given me that power to keep those undesired and uncouth away from one such as him. ”
“OK I can go, but could you, just tell me something about you?”
“Okay I will, but first you have to tell me something..  why is it you wish to know?”
“I just want to know.  That’s all.”
“That isn’t good enough.”
“But that is all there is to it.  What more do you want?”
“Nothing, I want you to leave.”
“Fine.  I’ll leave then.”
“Great.”
I walked back down the steps, old and crumbling away, with a hole burrowed in. And I heard a sound like a creak or a clearing throat and I turned.  The wind heaped and the gate shifted slightly.  I stared up at it, it is looking larger then ever and all I could do was stare, so uncertain of anything else.
“I am sorry I was rude before.  I do appreciate your asking.  It’s just. One does not answer these sorts of questions normally.”
The wind had a sort of hollow sound in it and it chilled me.
“I understand, my questions were nosy.  I’m sorry.”
“It’s alright.  You know you could apply to the people I serve for a summer position.   They have been looking for a window keeper.”
“Thank you.  i’ll keep that in mind.  ”
“I think it’s going to rain, you should get going.”  I looked at the sky which was indeed filled with thick riveted clouds of a dark and menacing shade and i left soon after.

Leave a Reply

