Getting Back to Writing

Well I am going to go back and start using the write practice again.  I am still writing my story.  Well second draft.. sort of.  It still feels like draft one because I am doing so much writing in it, there really is all writing at this point and no editing yet.  That’s because my original was set during a different time of my character’s life, and had become too long and draggy because of it.  Anyways because I have been going a little slow with it, I have decided to add to my practice a short daily write, which I will probably start posting here.

I am pretty sure my writing is not great at the time, but I need to ignore that for now and get back into the habit of writing every day.  So I will be posting something probably each day, probably very short.

Anyway about the book I am much happier with it, starting at a later point.  But it is also hard because there are Still some big questions I am going through.   I have found this basic outline on the web and I am going to use it to map all my scenes out and I think it will help me immensely:

  • three act structure.
  • nine checkpoints: a sentence per check point
  • break check point down to scenes.

I had been kind of going off memory from the original to write so far.  Outlining is one of those necessary evils I guess.  But part of me always is tempted to go without an outline.  I don’t know.

I think adding a picture to a blog is helpful… so I will have to think of a picture… oh hum.. how about..:

 01c466230b63e036d46c5f36890bf6cc

(picture found on pinterest by Jane: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/462885667924407298/ )

2 thoughts on “Getting Back to Writing

  1. m.muhlenkamp says:

    Keep at it. It took me forever to come to terms with the fact that I also needed some sort of outline for my book. It gives it structure and it gives you a better grasp on how to move forward.

Leave a Reply

