Breathe Life with your Words

Been happily plugging away. Though sometimes I don’t know if anything is coming together or not. I mean I have a lot of writing, but is it turning into a full length story? I’m not sure.

Last couple days new doubts have been freshly coming up like the morning lawn. And I have been taking some pause as I try to answer them to myself. It is more then doubt though. I am trying to ferment inside of myself my character. Trying to make his appearance in my life realer, more vivid. And also understand the world he lives and also the conflict he breathes that I will somehow have to write. Is it enough conflict though? Talk conflict to me! What are the problems, how big are they and how impossible do they seem to solve? The worse off the better. That’s what everything I have read up to this point on conflict tells me and I am apt to believe. Except believing does not a conflict enhanced story make. And so if he doesn’t get the girl, then.. so what? Uh it’s a … bad day? A really bad day. Sigh.

8c630c69f0c77c7196fea672216abb33 (1)

So what… Just like the frustrations of everyday life. No one is going to have a lot of sympathy for someone going through the same stuff everyone else has to go through. In writing, I have to find a way to make it bigger then real life. But how?

Maybe it means more fermenting, more bubbling it all over in my head, till things make sense. Till the answer just pops. I hope it will. I twist in my chair doubtfully, and hoping the next writing session will cure the looming questions that are plaguing.

No I know.. It is time to break out a day where I pick apart the plot. Being merciless and ravaging and all that fun stuff.

ff0884229c4f84190e9bea35c88ca874

7 thoughts on “Breathe Life with your Words

  1. I found that if it hadn’t happened yet in my subconscious mind, it wasn’t going to dribble out of my fingertips. I knew where the story was headed, although how it was going to get there took some time to come out. But there was always technical tweaking to do, and, of course, research, so I never felt blocked.

    Some of my most productive research was in psychology. I have the advantage of clinical education and experience, but there’s a lot of good stuff out there for non-professionals. It helps to know where the kinks are in your characters’ brains, which hinder them when they try to wrap their heads around their problems. A psychiatrist I was acquainted with told me that “if the brain soup isn’t seasoned properly,” nothing else tastes right. That’s what can make even the everyday stuff become larger than life.

Leave a Reply

