Writer’s Research- Argh I’m About to Pull my Hair Out!!!

I have for the last two days been attempting to do some research for a book I am writing.  I have to say I am having a difficult time.  For one I want to pick out a state where the book takes place.  It seems like such a simple thing to have a state.  But I have only been in two states and both states are not where I see the story taking place.  I envision a city with a rural area outside it.  It will have some economic difficulties, but not be too overwhelming.  It is a delicate balance.  And so I have been trying to immerse myself in major cities in the US till I find the right one.  In the meantime this takes from time I could be writing.  I am wondering what other writers do to handle these dilemmas.  Also as I started writing I have noticed there are a lot of other details in the story that I need to do research on to get some clarification.

But on the bright side I have found a neat pictures from Chicago, one of the places I have been looking at:

th (5)e4451942125175e50e3a399527227bfb

What about you, if anyone does read this… Are you writing anything, and if so what do you have to do for the sake of your writing?  I would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Research- Argh I’m About to Pull my Hair Out!!!

  1. I can sympathize. I am trying to write a book, but in a fictional place. I have been trying to look over some pictures of cities with country settings in the suburbs and I have not found one yet that really meets what I am looking for. Try a state like Maine or Wisconsin. They have large cities with short distances to mountains and country/farm land.

Leave a Reply

